Sharp Tongue and Mace

She’s wine

I’m gasoline

She’s sweet to taste

I’m deadly to swallow

Light a match with her, it’s romance

Light a match with me, it’s dangerous

I bet you two don’t disagree

I bet she smokes weed and games

She’s prettier than me too

I’ve seen her

Her smile is brighter than a full moon

Her shape is soft and all curves

You always seem to be leaning into her

And it kills me

I’d give anything sometimes just to be her shoulder

Just to have you rest your lovely head on me

I bet she knows all your secrets

I bet she’s memorized your childhood stories

I bet her name alone makes your heartbeat speed up

Because I know yours drives my heart wild

And maybe I can make you laugh without trying, but she gets to make you orgasm

And maybe you care for me, but you’ll never care for me like you do for her

And maybe it doesn’t matter if I need you because her love is all you need

And maybe I should drift away because being around you is painful

But I don’t know if I can bear it because being away feels like I’m not breathing

Yes, yes

I know

She’s beauty, she is grace

And I’m a sharp tongue and mace

From what I’ve heard, she’s calm and collected

She seems to go with the flow

And than there’s me:

Overanalyzing, constantly apologizing, making half-honest jokes about dying

She’s like the gentle scent of lavender on a warm Summer day

And I’m the rot of discarded roses on some fucking graffiti marked bin

I know I don’t deserve you

And it makes my veins itch to bleed just to speak

I know you and her are perfect together

And God that clenches my heart to say

But I have to accept it:

You will never love me,

You will never hold me,

You will never look at me in that sickly sweet way

I can’t compare to her

I will never compare

I’m just a rainstorm to her radiance

An iron gate, to her perfect picket fence

I’m nervous tapping, awkward conversation

And she’s laughter, she’s confidence

It’s been eight months

Eight months

And this ache isn’t fading

I think it’s here to stay-

Not unlike her with you

I don’t know how to end this poem because I haven’t figure out how to stop wanting you

I guess I’ll just be honest and direct, since I may have failed to say it:

I’m falling in love with you and I fucking hate it

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑